TL;DR

Sorry teacher but I just have to say it because you only pointed it out; Abraham Lincoln’s famous speech “The Gettysburg Address” should not be in this class. When taking this class and learning about famous American Literature we started from before the founding of America with the creation stories of the Iroquois and Onondaga tribes to Emily Dickinson poetry in the mid-1800s. With that said “The Gettysburg Address” and the start of the American Civil War would start in the next course which makes putting Abraham Lincoln’s famous speech a waste of space and days talking about it. Nw it is worth a look if you have not already read it, but in terms of taking out of the class is definitely a must.

Image result for abraham lincoln memes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meanwhile if you thought that was dumb I will tell you what you genuinely need to hear. Abraham Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address was one of the best things I have ever looked at but a really story that should not be looked at in the class besides the poetry is Nathaniel Hawthorne’s “The Minister’s Black Veil”. If you thought Poe’s stories were dark then you definitely don’t need to worry about this one. While the story surrounds itself about secret sin and gossip I didn’t really understand it all to well. I’ve read it a few times over and over and still I am unable to wrap my head around what is actually happening in the story. Side note; because I didn’t understand the story all to well I couldn’t enjoy it (the same could be said for Poe’s “The Pit and the Pendulum” but I enjoyed that one). And while other readings from this class were more journal entries, letters, poems, and essays written and spoken out to, one story you’ll definitely want to pass up is “The Minister’s Black Veil” #sorryhawthorne

Image result for nathaniel hawthorne memes

Leave a comment